• Home > Publications > Digital & Technology Solutions > > Women and financial services: fintech on the lead
  • Women and financial services: fintech on the lead

    The law allowing women to open a bank account dates back… 1965.
    In 2018, this idea seems absurd, not to say surreal. Yet, it shows how women have long been excluded from the finance industry, despite public knowledge that they oversaw the family budget. The legacy weighs: to this day, some companies that have been operating for long in this industry still struggle perceiving the rapid growth of women as a market which they need to study and attract to establish loyalty. On the other hand, some women although active, entrepreneurs, holding assets more and more valuable, set an upfront negative outlook regarding banking industry.
    There is a lack of studies specific to France. On a wider scale, gross income from women worldwide should reach 18 thousand billion dollars in 2018 according to EY. In the U.S., women are implied in 89% of account openings decisions. They are accountable not only for their own account, but also for their relatives’: promoting services that better understand their female customers i.e. their personal entourage, is mathematically an omen for solid growth.
    If the matter is taken more and more seriously by main actors in the industry, it is often superficially considered. Products are not necessarily specifically designed and better targeted. For example, in 2011 Banque Pictet set up a dedicated service towards feminine wealth: a written commitment on the banker’s availability, periodic courses, and dedicated breakfast regarding banking, stock markets, tax or legal issues. More recently, AXA launched in 2016 the “L” product: a package of targeted solutions for women taking part in a wider perspective of promoting equality between genders from a corporate point of view. Initiatives in this prospect are more and more efficient yet are long awaited. Besides, this “Champagne and Chocolate” approach from traditional actors reaches its limits.
    The emergence of Fintechs in this industry might very well be the tipping point that radically changes perspectives. But why?
    First, the start-up ecosystem was born with a natural care about women expectations regarding services, in particular towards women entrepreneurs. A greater number of women are embarking on building their businesses (according to ministry for finance, women were responsible for 40% of new individual businesses in 2015 VS 38% one year before), their activity mechanically calls for growth potential. Fintechs build on the other hand productive, user friendly, simple and fast services from the start. These criteria are often quoted by women during market surveys as key factors in their consuming behaviour.
    Most of all, the digitalization of customer relationship tends to “desacralize” finance. It is no longer mandatory to work with bankers who have seldom proved their understanding of women’s entrepreneurs’ requirements. Women have found in these new contenders people to talk to and with whom build a business relation from scratch, without resentment from the past. More to the point, these new competitors are more feminine themselves such as Stéphanie Vasel, Wiseed founder (crowdfunding), Cécile Mérine who took part in the OtherWise initiative (collective insurance digital broker).
    Fintechs thus hold aces up their sleeves. They can build on their native advantage and a positive image to better shape their products and grasping a durable share of this booming market.
    What about the specific market of feminine wealth? The number of wealthy women is growing; due to the combination of salaries expansion, longer lifespan, a greater number of women building their businesses; the economic stakes and potential gains are enormous and yet poorly satisfied by traditional wealth management firms. Digital Private Banking for women: a new opportunity for fintechs to seize?

    Originally written in French by Deborah Uzan, translated in English by John Watine

    First published in FinTech Mag

• Home > Publications > Digital & technologie > Articles de presse > Croissance au féminin : avantage aux Fintech
  • Croissance au féminin : avantage aux Fintech

    La loi autorisant les femmes à ouvrir un compte en banque en France date… de 1965.
    En 2018, l’anecdote parait absurde, voire irréelle. Pourtant, elle est le signe que les femmes ont été longtemps tenues à l’écart du monde financier, alors même que de notoriété publique, elles étaient en charge du budget familial. L’héritage est lourd : aujourd’hui encore, certains acteurs historiques du secteur de la finance s’approprient mal l’idée que les femmes constituent un marché en forte croissance qu’il faut étudier pour le séduire et le fidéliser. Et certaines femmes, pourtant aujourd’hui actives, chefs d’entreprises, détentrices d’avoirs de plus en plus importants, nourrissent un a priori négatif sur le monde bancaire.
    Les études manquent en France mais le revenu global des femmes dans le monde devrait atteindre 18 mille milliards de dollars en 2018 d’après EY. Aux Etats-Unis, les femmes comptent pour 89 % des décisions d’ouverture de comptes bancaires. Elles sont prescriptrices pour leur propre compte et celui de leur entourage direct : proposer des services qui prennent mieux en compte les clientes -donc leur sphère personnelle, est mathématiquement une promesse de fort développement.
    Le sujet commence à être pris au sérieux chez les acteurs historiques du marché, mais de manière parfois trop superficielle ou sans déboucher sur de véritables offres mieux ciblées. Par exemple, en 2011, la Banque Pictet a mis en place un accompagnement spécifique des grandes fortunes féminines : un engagement écrit sur la disponibilité du banquier privé, des formations régulières et des petits déjeuners exclusivement féminins qui permettent de faire le point des sujets boursiers, juridiques ou fiscaux. Plus récemment, AXA lançait en 2016 l’offre « L », un ensemble de solutions calibrées pour les femmes et qui s’inscrit dans une démarche de mixité plus globale de l’entreprise. Les initiatives sont de plus en plus efficaces mais tardent à se matérialiser. Et cette approche « Champagne et chocolat » des acteurs traditionnels atteint ses limites.
    C’est dans ce contexte que l’arrivée des Fintech dans le paysage bancaire pourrait bien modifier radicalement la donne. Pourquoi ?
    D’abord parce que cet écosystème de start-ups est dès l’origine en phase avec les besoins des femmes en matière de services financiers, en particulier ceux des créatrices d’entreprises. De plus en plus nombreuses à monter leur propre activité (selon le ministère de l’Economie et des Finances, 40 % des entreprises individuelles étaient créées par des femmes en 2015, contre 38 % en 2014), leur activité génère mécaniquement de nouveaux gisements de croissance. Or les FinTech proposent nativement des services orientés sur la productivité, l’ergonomie, la simplicité et la vitesse d’exécution, critères que les femmes citent très fréquemment dans les études de marché comme déterminant leur comportement d’achat.
    Mais surtout : la digitalisation de la relation client « désacralise » l’univers de la finance en supprimant l’intermédiation de banquiers qui n’avaient pas toujours su jusque-là démontrer leur capacité d’écoute envers les entrepreneuses. Les femmes trouvent de nouveaux acteurs auxquels s’adresser et avec lesquels elles peuvent nouer une relation d’affaires sans passif. Des acteurs d’ailleurs de plus en plus souvent féminins eux-mêmes : citons parmi d’autres Stéphanie Vasel, fondatrice de Wiseed (crowdfunding), ou Cécile Mérine à l’origine d’OtherWise, courtier digital en assurances collectives.
    Les Fintech ont donc une carte à jouer : capitaliser sur leurs avantages natifs et un a-priori positif pour affiner leur offre et capter ainsi durablement un marché en pleine expansion.
    Et pour la clientèle encore plus spécifique des grandes fortunes féminines -de plus en plus nombreuses sous l’effet conjoint de meilleurs salaires, de l’allongement de leur espérance de vie et de l’augmentation du nombre de créatrices d’entreprises, les enjeux économiques et gains potentiels sont colossaux et encore mal satisfaits par les acteurs traditionnels de la gestion de fortune. La Banque Privée digitale au féminin : une nouvelle place à prendre pour les Fintech ?

    Publié initialement dans FinTech Mag